Divergent Series Movies in Order: A Guide for Fans and Newcomers

The Divergent series is a popular book and movie franchise that has captured the hearts of millions of fans around the world. The story is set in a post-apocalyptic Chicago, where society is divided into five factions based on virtues: Abnegation (selflessness), Amity (kindness), Candor (honesty), Dauntless (bravery), and Erudite (intelligence). The protagonist, Tris Prior, discovers that she is a Divergent – someone who does not fit into any one faction – and thus becomes the target of the ruthless ruler of the city.

If you are a fan of the Divergent series or are considering watching it for the first time, it is important to know the correct order in which to watch the movies. So, without further ado, here is the order of the Divergent movies:

1) Divergent (2014)
The first movie in the series is the adaptation of the first book in the trilogy, also titled Divergent. It sets the stage for the rest of the story by introducing the factions, the main characters, and the conflict. Tris, portrayed by Shailene Woodley, is a gray area character who doesn’t fit into just one faction that explores a complex dystopian world.

2) Insurgent (2015)
The second movie in the series picks up right where the first one left off. After the events of Divergent, Tris and her allies are on the run from the Erudite and Dauntless factions, who are trying to eliminate the Divergents. Here, Tris starts to embrace her identity as a Divergent.

3) Allegiant (2016)
The third and final book in the series was split into two movies, with Allegiant being the first part. In this movie, Tris and her allies venture outside the city limits of Chicago for the first time in search of a solution to overthrow the government system. Tris’ boyfriend Four, portrayed by Theo James, continues to be a supportive and protective figure in her life.

4) Ascendant (TBA)
Originally intended to be the second half of Allegiant, Ascendant underwent a transformation after Lionsgate announced that they would be turning it into a TV series instead of a movie. Initially, the movie was set to follow the characters as they attempt to stop the fall of their city, while also sorting out their personal problems. But with the impending TV series, details about Ascendant’s plot have been kept under wraps.

In conclusion, if you are planning to watch the Divergent series, make sure to watch it in the correct order: Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, and Ascendant (whenever it comes out). Each movie builds on the previous one, and the characters’ arcs continue throughout all the films. With an incredible cast, a captivating storyline, and flawless visual effects, the Divergent series is a must-watch for all fans of the dystopian genre.

Share this article

Recent posts

Google search engine

Popular categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent comments