If you are a fan of the popular anime series Evangelion, then you know how thrilling and complex it can be. With various spin-offs, adaptations, and films, it can be challenging to figure out how to watch Evangelion movies in order. In this article, we will help make sense of it all.

Firstly, it is essential to understand that the original Evangelion series was released in 1995 and consisted of 26 episodes. These episodes follow protagonist Shinji Ikari as he pilots the mecha-robots called Evangelions to fight against otherworldly beings called Angels.

In 1997, a movie named “Death & Rebirth” premiered in Japan, which was a recap of the original series. It included some new footage in the form of clips with different perspectives, but it is not necessary to watch it.

The first significant movie that continues the story of Evangelion is “The End of Evangelion.” It is highly recommended to watch it after completing the series, as it serves as an alternate ending to the anime. It dives deeper into the psychological aspects of the main characters and their relationships.

After a 14-year hiatus, the next set of films was released in Japan, a tetralogy that reset the series starting from scratch, titled “Rebuild of Evangelion.” This series retold the events of the original 26-episode anime with some significant changes and additional story elements.

The first movie in the Rebuild series, “Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone,” is an updated retelling of the first six episodes of the original anime series. The second film, “Evangelion 2.0: You Can (Not) Advance,” is a blend of new and familiar elements from episodes 7 to 19 of the show. The third movie, “Evangelion 3.0: You Can (Not) Redo,” deviates heavily from the original storyline, moving the story further into uncharted territory. The fourth and final film, “Evangelion 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon a Time,” was recently released in Japan in March 2021, concluding the Rebuild series.

In conclusion, if you want to watch Evangelion movies in order, we recommend the following sequence. Watch the original series of 26 episodes first, followed by “The End of Evangelion” movie. If you want to dive even deeper into the series or want to see a fresh take on it, watch the Rebuild series, starting with “Evangelion 1.0.”

In summary, the order to watch Evangelion movies is:

1. Neon Genesis Evangelion (26 episodes)
2. The End of Evangelion
3. Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone
4. Evangelion 2.0: You Can (Not) Advance
5. Evangelion 3.0: You Can (Not) Redo
6. Evangelion 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon a Time (released only in Japan for now)

We hope this article helps you enjoy the thrilling and complex world of Evangelion. Happy watching!

Share this article

Recent posts

Google search engine

Popular categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent comments