Home Alone Movies in Order – A Complete Guide to the Beloved Christmas Classics

The Home Alone franchise is a beloved Christmas classic that has entertained audiences for decades. With its charming characters and heartwarming storyline, it’s no wonder that it has become a staple of the holiday season. If you’re a fan of these films or simply looking to get into the Home Alone universe, then you may be wondering about the order of the movies. In this article, we’ll provide you with a complete guide to the Home Alone movies in order, so you can enjoy the films in the proper sequence.

Home Alone (1990)

The movie that started it all, Home Alone was released in 1990 and quickly became a holiday classic. Starring a young Macaulay Culkin as Kevin McCallister, the movie follows the story of a young boy who is accidentally left behind by his family during their Christmas vacation. When Kevin discovers that two burglars are planning to rob his home, he sets out to defend himself and his house with a series of traps and pranks.

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992)

The second installment of the Home Alone franchise finds Kevin McCallister back in action, this time in the Big Apple. Accidentally separated from his family during a holiday trip to Florida, Kevin ends up in New York City where he must once again defend himself against the same bumbling burglars who tried to rob his home in the first movie.

Home Alone 3 (1997)

Home Alone 3 takes the franchise in a new direction by introducing a new character named Alex Pruitt, played by Alex D. Linz. This time around, the action moves to Chicago as Alex finds himself home alone after being infected with a cold during the holidays. When a group of international thieves tries to steal a top-secret military chip from his house, Alex uses his clever wit and a variety of inventive booby traps to defend his home and stop the thieves.

Home Alone 4: Taking Back the House (2002)

In this made-for-TV movie, Kevin McCallister is back and he’s all grown up. Now played by Mike Weinberg, Kevin finds himself once again home alone during the holidays when his divorced parents accidentally book separate vacations at the same time. When his mother’s new boyfriend tries to take over the house, Kevin sets out to foil his plans and reclaim his home.

Home Alone: The Holiday Heist (2012)

The most recent installment in the Home Alone franchise, The Holiday Heist introduces a new family to the Home Alone universe. The Baxter family moves into a new house during the holidays, but they soon discover that the house is haunted by ghosts. When they realize that a group of thieves is after a valuable painting hidden in the house, they team up with a new friend named Finn to defend their home.


Whether you’re a longtime fan of the Home Alone movies or discovering them for the first time, knowing the order of the films is important to fully appreciate the series. From the original classic to the more recent installments, the Home Alone franchise is sure to bring joy and laughter to anyone’s holiday season. So, gather your family around the TV, make some hot cocoa, and enjoy the antics of Kevin McCallister and his companions in the Home Alone movies.

Share this article

Recent posts




Google search engine

Popular categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent comments