Kenshin Movies in Order – The Ultimate Guide for Samurai Movie Fans

Kenshin movies, often known as Samurai X movies, have become immensely popular over the years among Samurai enthusiasts all over the world. Based on the iconic manga by Nobuhiro Watsuki, these films showcase the life of a wandering Samurai named Kenshin Himura, who struggles to atone for his past as an assassin.

With a total of six Kenshin movies released to date, it can be daunting to determine the correct order of the films. Fear not, as we have created the ultimate guide to Kenshin movies, providing you with a detailed look at the films’ chronology and plot.

1. Rurouni Kenshin: Origins (2012)

The first installment of the series is Rurouni Kenshin: Origins, which depicts Kenshin’s past as an assassin working for the government during the Bakumatsu war. Directed by Keishi Otomo, the film is based on the Jinchu arc of the manga and serves as the prequel to the rest of the series. It features Kenshin’s first encounter with a young girl named Tomoe Yukishiro, who later becomes his love interest.

2. Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno (2014)

The second film, Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno, follows Kenshin as he is forced to confront his past once again when the extremist group, Juppongatana, seeks to overthrow the government. Directed by Keishi Otomo like its predecessor, the movie has epic sword-fighting fight scenes, also featuring a strong cast of characters.

3. Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014)

The third and final movie, Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends, wraps up the story arc and concludes Kenshin’s journey to redemption. Directed by Keishi Otomo, the movie features a climactic battle between Kenshin and his arch-nemesis, Shishio Makoto, which will keep you on the edge of your seat!

4. Rurouni Kenshin: The Final (2021)

Ten years later, Kenshin returns in Rurouni Kenshin: The Final. Directed by Keishi Otomo and based on the manga’s Jinchu arc, the movie takes place after the events of the first trilogy. Kenshin is forced to confront his old enemy, Enishi Yukishiro, who seeks revenge for the death of his sister, Tomoe. Anyone who has watched the first trilogy knows that this will be an epic battle between the two swordsman.

5. Rurouni Kenshin: The Beginning (2021)

The sixth, and final movie in the series, is Rurouni Kenshin: The Beginning. Set ten years before the events of the first movie, it follows Kenshin during his early days as an assassin for the government. Directed by Keishi Otomo, the movie reveals the origins of Kenshin as a sword-fighter and features some of the best fight scenes in the entire series.

In conclusion, the Kenshin movies offer the perfect balance of action, drama, and romance, making them a must-watch for all Samurai and movie enthusiasts. Now that you know the correct order of the films, sit back, get your popcorn, and enjoy the epic sword-fighting battles of Kenshin Himura!

Share this article

Recent posts

Google search engine

Popular categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent comments