If you are a fan of the classic science fiction franchise, Planet of the Apes, and want to dive in again, then this is the article for you. In this article, we will provide you with a comprehensive guide on the correct order to watch the Planet of the Apes movies, including the new ones.

The Planet of the Apes franchise follows a dystopian future where apes have gained intelligence, and humans have become second-class citizens. The original movie released in 1968 evolved into one of the most popular franchises, with multiple sequels, prequels, and spin-offs.

Here is the proper viewing order for the franchise, including the latest reboot series released in 2011:

1. Planet of the Apes (1968)
2. Beneath the Planet of the Apes (1970)
3. Escape from the Planet of the Apes (1971)
4. Conquest of the Planet of the Apes (1972)
5. Battle for the Planet of the Apes (1973)
6. Rise of the Planet of the Apes (2011)
7. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (2014)
8. War for the Planet of the Apes (2017)

The first five movies form the original franchise, whereas the last three are part of the rebooted series.

The original series focuses on the post-apocalyptic world ruled by apes, whereas the modern films intend to tell the story of how apes evolved to become the dominant species.

The first movie is the most iconic of them all and stars Charlton Heston, where he encounters a world where apes dominate and humans are subservient. The sequels helped to expand the universe and introduced new characters and subplots involving time travel and a cult of mutants.

The modern films are more focused on themes of survival, familial bonds, and the ethical implications of scientific advancements.

The reboot series, which consists of Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, and War for the Planet of the Apes, are connected by a continuous storyline. They follow a chimpanzee named Caesar, who through scientific experimentation, gains intelligence and leads the apes in a revolt against humanity.

In conclusion, if you want to re-watch or discover the world of Planet of the Apes, the correct viewing order is the original five movies, followed by the rebooted series. It’s a fantastic franchise that has stood the test of time, and with new content coming in the form of a possible continuation of the modern films, it’s the perfect time to jump back in.

Share this article

Recent posts

Google search engine

Popular categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent comments