If you’re a fan of unsettling horror movies, then you’ve likely encountered the Tremors movie franchise. The series of films follow the citizens of the fictional Nevada town Perfection Valley as they combat a variety of giant, underground monsters. The Tremors series has been in production for over 30 years and includes six films, as well as a television series. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the Tremors movies in order.

Tremors (1990)
Directed by Ron Underwood, the first installment of the Tremors series was released in 1990. The movie follows the residents of Perfection Valley as they discover a series of giant, worm-like creatures living beneath their town. The giant creatures have a unique ability to detect vibrations and gravitate towards the most significant source of movement. This movie marked the debut of Kevin Bacon’s character, Valentine “Val” McKee, who teams up with Earl Basset, played by Fred Ward, to fend off the monstrous invaders.

Tremors 2: Aftershocks (1996)
Six years after the first Tremors movie was released, Tremors 2: Aftershocks hit the big screen. This time around, Val and Earl are no longer the primary characters. Instead, the sequel follows Earl and a new character named Grady Hoover, played by Christopher Gartin, who team up to fight a new generation of the horrific underground creatures. Tremors 2: Aftershocks was directed by S.S. Wilson, who co-wrote the screenplay for the first movie with Brent Maddock.

Tremors 3: Back to Perfection (2001)
The third installment of the Tremors series takes us back to Perfection Valley’s roots. Tremors 3: Back to Perfection brings back the original stars Kevin Bacon and Fred Ward as they reprise the roles of Val and Earl, now retired from their monster-battling days. The movie introduces us to Burt Gummer, played by Michael Gross, who becomes essential to the series. Burt is a survivalist with an extensive collection of weapons that comes in handy when battling the ferocious Graboids.

Tremors 4: The Legend Begins (2004)
Tremors 4: The Legend Begins is a prequel to the first three Tremors movies. This installment is set in 1889 and follows a group of miners who discover the Graboids living below the Nevada desert. The movie introduces us to the character that Michael Gross will later play, Burt Gummer’s great-grandfather Hiram Gummer, who helps combat the underground monsters.

Tremors 5: Bloodlines (2015)
Tremors 5: Bloodlines takes place in South Africa, where Burt Gummer is hired to kill a group of Graboids that are terrorizing the local residents. This installment brings back Tremors 3’s Michael Gross in the starring role of Burt Gummer, who is accompanied by a new character named Travis Welker, played by Jamie Kennedy.

Tremors 6: A Cold Day in Hell (2018)
The latest addition to the Tremors series is Tremors 6: A Cold Day in Hell. The movie is set in the Arctic Circle and follows Burt Gummer as he travels to Canada to stop a new strain of Graboids. The movie adds to the Tremors mythology, introducing the sub-zero variety of Graboids.

In conclusion, the Tremors movie franchise is a classic horror movie series that has spanned over 30 years, with six movies released to-date. Each movie brings new challenges and unique monsters that keep viewers on the edge of their seats. If you’re a fan of the genre, these movies are a must-watch.

Share this article

Recent posts

Google search engine

Popular categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent comments